Meyer Boswell Books, Inc.
A searchable bookshop,
specializing in antiquarian law books

Meyer Boswell Books Search Results Page

Search Result

Database last updated on Sun Jul 11 16:10:43 2021

Matching records found:
9
Records displayed:
9
Search terms:
Manuscripts
Searching :
Category Field
Searching dates:
All Dates
Searching prices :
$Any to $Any
Searching books added :
At Any Date
 
Author:
Baker, Sir John (comp.)
Title:
The English Legal Manuscripts of Sir Thomas Phillipps
Publisher:
Selden Society, London, 2008.
Description:
The fruits of Dr. Baker's efforts begun in the 1970's, building on those of Dr. A.N.L. Munby, to describe, record, and locate the present whereabouts of "the largest . . . collection [of English legal manuscripts] ever formed by an individual"
Condition:
Original cloth, as new in the dustjacket; the Society's Supplementary Series, volume 16
Book No.:
W-75535
Price:
$ 80.00
Category:
Manuscripts
Author:
Hunter, Joseph (comp.)
Title:
Three Catalogues; Describing the Contents of the Red Book of the Exchequer, of the Dodsworth Manuscripts in the Bodleian Library, and of the Manuscripts in the Library of the Honourable Society of Lincoln's Inn
Publisher:
Pickering, Chancery Lane, London, 1838.
Description:
The separate, enlarged publication of the three catalogues originally prepared under the direction of the Record Commission, concluding with the portion devoted to the manuscripts of Lincoln's Inn, including those of Matthew Hale and Serjeant Maynard
Condition:
Modern blue cloth, gilt-lettered, light browning, else a very good copy; one of 150 copies printed, 100 intended for public sale
Book No.:
W-77065
Price:
$ 650.00
Category:
libraries, Manuscripts
 
Author:
Title:
Checklist Brit Legal Manuscrip
Publisher:
Description:
Condition:
Book No.:
W-10954
Price:
$ 25.00
Category:
Manuscripts
Author:
Hargrave, Francis
Title:
A Collection of Tracts Relative to the Law of England, from Manuscripts, Now First Edited [etc.]. Volume 1 [all published] [without the errata]
Publisher:
Printed by T. Wright: And sold by E. Brooke [etc.], London, 1787.
Description:
Hargrave's editing of some of the choicest manuscripts from his personal library, including previously unpublished works by Blackstone and Hale, Holdsworth characterizing the effort as one of Hargrave's two "principal service[s] to legal history"
Condition:
Contemporary calf, quite worn, rebacked, ex-library, browning, occasional early and informed notations; a good usable copy
Book No.:
W-77563
Price:
$ 850.00
Category:
English Law, Manuscripts
Author:
Croke, George
Title:
The Reports of Sir George Croke Knight; Late, One of the Justices of the Court of Kings-Bench; and Formerly, One of the Justices of the Court of Common Bench . . . Revised, and published in English, By Sir Harebotle Grimston [etc.]. Wing C7014. Folio
Publisher:
Printed by J.S. and are to be sold by the Stationers of London, London, 1657.
Description:
One of two first printings of the part of Croke's Reports first to be published, covering all of the reign of Charles I, "approached . . . within the tradition of Plowden and Coke" and reflecting Croke's habits of study perfected over fifty years
Condition:
Contemporary blind-ruled unlettered calf, rubbed, the joints just cracking and the spine varnished, a usable copy; with the portrait
Book No.:
W-78065
Price:
$ 250.00
Category:
reports of cases, Manuscripts
 
Author:
Francis, Clinton and Sue Sheridan Walker (eds.)
Title:
Checklist of Research in British Legal Manuscripts Volume III
Publisher:
Northwestern University School of Law, Chicago, 1984.
Description:
Condition:
Stapled wraps; 58 pages
Book No.:
W-41605
Price:
$ 12.50
Category:
equity, maxims, Manuscripts
 
Author:
Post, Margaret (intro.)
Title:
Royal Portraits from the Plea Rolls, Henry VIII to Charles II
Publisher:
Her Majesty's Stationery Office [for the Public Record Office], London, 1974.
Description:
A little known source of Royal portraiture, selected from the initial membrances of the plea rolls between 1460 and 1674, the first letter of which (the 'P' of Placita coram domino rege) was decorated, often with the sovereign's portrait; in color
Condition:
Printed stapled oblong wraps, somewhat worn; 16 pages
Book No.:
W-62574
Price:
$ 75.00
Category:
Legal Art, MEDIEVAL, Legal Art, Manuscripts
Author:
Title:
Explicatio in Zoesy Digesta. Manuscript, closely but quite legibly written in one hand, approximately 650 pages, in Latin, commencing "Corpus Juris civilis Romani, quatuor habet partes principales"
Publisher:
No scribe or scholar stated, No place stated, 16??.
Description:
The manuscript seemingly summarizing the Roman law learning of Hendrik Zoesius, the Dutch legist who wrote and lectured on both the Institutes and the Digest, four books in fifty-two titles, with paragraphs keyed to numbered ?paragraphs in the margin
Condition:
Contemporary vellum, a bit rubbed, morocco label ("Explicat a Zoesy"), the spine hand lettered "Manuscript 17th Century", some staining; a good copy
Book No.:
W-75648
Price:
$ 2500.00
Category:
roman law, Manuscripts, Holland
Author:
Croke, George
Title:
The First Part {Though last Publish't} of the Reports of Sr George Croke Kt., Late one of the Justices of the Court of Kings-Bench, And formerly one of the Justices of the Court of Common-Bench . . . Revised and published in English [etc.]. Wing C7012. Folio
Publisher:
Printed for A. Roper, T. Collins, F. Tyton [and three others], London, 1669.
Description:
First reissue of the first part of Croke's reports, devoted to some two decades of the reign of Elizabeth "approached . . . within the tradition of Plowden and Coke", concluding with a revised ediion of the earliest catalogue of law books to appear
Condition:
Modern 1/4 calf over marbled boards, very light browning, without the portrait, else well preserved with excellent margins; the Taussig copy
Book No.:
W-80317
Price:
$ 350.00
Category:
reports of cases, Manuscripts, Bibliography

E-mail Results to Yourself or a Friend

To e-mail the results above to a friend or to yourself, simply fill in the fields below:

(e.g. user@company.com. To send to more than one person, separate each e-mail address with a comma.)
 

Save This Search

To be notified by e-mail (no obligation to purchase) when newly added books match this search
criteria, please enter your e-mail in the box below and hit the "Add This to My Wants" button.
To edit your existing wants list, enter your e-mail and hit the "Edit My Wants" button.

(e.g. user@company.com)

How to Order Books

If your browser supports and is set to accept cookies, you can click the 'Add to Order' button next to the selection you would like to order. The system will show you all the books in your shopping cart. If you wish to order additional books from this page, you may use the 'Back' button on your browser to return to this page from the Shopping Cart page.
If your browser does not support cookies or you choose not to accept them, you may use our previous non-cookie ordering system.
Alternately, you may order by sending an e-mail note, or by contacting us directly by phone or FAX.
If you do send a FAX, please make sure to include your full shipping address, a credit card number and expiration date, and the "Order No" of the volumes you would like. Also, please make sure to leave a phone number so that we can contact you in the event we encounter any problems filling your order.

Contact Us

Questions, comments, inquiries??? Please write us!
rarelaw@meyerbos.com

Meyer Boswell Books, Inc.
2141 Mission Street, Suite 302
San Francisco, CA 94110
Phone : (415) 255-6400
Fax : (415) 795-3982
E-mail: rarelaw@meyerbos.com
URL : https://www.meyerbos.com
Privacy Policy
Accessibility