Meyer Boswell Books, Inc.

A searchable bookshop, specializing in antiquarian law books

Search Result

Database last updated on Fri Oct 13 14:52:47 2017

Matching records found:
13
Records displayed:
13
Search terms:
Manuscripts
Searching :
Category Field
Searching dates:
All Dates
Searching prices :
$Any to $Any
Searching books added :
At Any Date
Author:
Hunter, Joseph (comp.)
Title:
Three Catalogues; Describing the Contents of the Red Book of the Exchequer, of the Dodsworth Manuscripts in the Bodleian Library, and of the Manuscripts in the Library of the Honourable Society of Lincoln's Inn
Publisher:
Pickering, Chancery Lane, London, 1838.
Description:
The separate, enlarged publication of the three catalogues originally prepared under the direction of the Record Commission, concluding with the portion devoted to the manuscripts of Lincoln's Inn, including those of Matthew Hale and Serjeant Maynard
Condition:
Modern blue cloth, gilt-lettered, light browning, else a very good copy; one of 150 copies printed, 100 intended for public sale
Book No.:
W-77065
Price:
$ 650.00
Category:
libraries, Manuscripts
Author:
Croke, George
Title:
The Reports of Sir George Croke Knight; Late, One of the Justices of the Court of Kings-Bench; and Formerly, One of the Justices of the Court of Common Bench . . . Revised, and published in English, By Sir Harebotle Grimston [etc.]. Wing C7014. Folio
Publisher:
Printed by J.S. and are to be sold by the Stationers of London, London, 1657.
Description:
One of two first printings of the part of Croke's Reports first to be published, covering all of the reign of Charles I, "approached . . . within the tradition of Plowden and Coke" and reflecting Croke's habits of study perfected over fifty years
Condition:
Contemporary blind-ruled unlettered calf, rubbed, the joints just cracking and the spine varnished, a usable copy; with the portrait
Book No.:
W-78065
Price:
$ 250.00
Category:
reports of cases, Manuscripts
 
Author:
Title:
Autograph Letter, signed, from J.E. Hall to Supreme Court Justice Joseph Story, dated February 6, 1819, about 7 1/2 x 9 inches in ink in a clear legible hand
Publisher:
Two pages plus integral address leaf, Philadelphia, 1819.
Description:
The attempt by Hall, founder of this country's first law journal, to seek Story's support and the imprimatur of the Supreme Court for his proposed Journal of Jurisprudence, invoking his association with Peter DuPonceau as evidence of his bona fides
Condition:
Tear to the address leaf, a few small pinholes, some bleed through, but legibility preserved in all instances, sound and well preserved
Book No.:
W-79018
Price:
$ 1250.00
Category:
Manuscripts, constitutional law, Supreme Court, law publishing
 
Author:
Forsyth, William
Title:
History of Ancient Manuscripts. A Lecture Delivered in the Hall of the Inner Temple . . . and Printed at the Request of the Masters of the Bench
Publisher:
John Murray, Albemarle St., London, 1872.
Description:
Forsyth's intellectual venture into the many vexed issues surrounding the transmission of classic and medieval manuscripts (and in some cases of their fraudulent preparation) of law, history, literature, and religion
Condition:
Maroon cloth, slightly faded; hinges weak, but otherwise a very good copy; presentation copy to Royal Literary & Scientific Institution
Book No.:
W-91887
Price:
$ 65.00
Category:
Manuscripts
Author:
Title:
Manuscript Letter Book #19 of H. Sharples & Sons, London Solicitors, measuring about 8 x 11 inches with about 1,000 pages on onion skin paper providing copies of its correspondence from May 1897 to February 1898, prefaced by an extensive index
Publisher:
Ink in a clear legible hand throughout, London, 1897-98.
Description:
An extensive primary source demonstrating the vast and varied civil practice of a firm of London solicitors, with much on commercial matters, wills, estates, real property, covenants, mortgages, debts, leases, and accounts, inter alia
Condition:
Original 3/4 calf over boards, marbled endpapers and pastedowns, quite rubbed, rear joint just cracking, but firm, a sturdy and usable copy
Book No.:
W-67699
Price:
$ 350.00
Category:
Manuscripts
 
Author:
Walker, Sue Sheridan (ed.)
Title:
Checklist of Research in British Legal Manuscripts. Volume 1
Publisher:
Northeastern Illinois University, Chicago, 1974.
Description:
Condition:
Printed stapled wraps; 25 pages
Book No.:
W-30349
Price:
$ 25.00
Category:
Manuscripts, Bibliography
Author:
Ward, George Edgar Septimus
Title:
Forensic Medicine
Publisher:
N.p., London, 1920's?.
Description:
Carefully preserved notes of the comprehensive lectures on forensic medicine given by Dr. Ward at London's Middlesex Hospital, his "interest in clinical medicine . . . taught clearly and impressively to many generations of students at the Middlesex"
Condition:
Flexible dark green buckram, gilt lettered, neat double-spaced typescript in red and black, 23 lectures in 136 pages; a very good copy
Book No.:
W-74513
Price:
$ 450.00
Category:
Manuscripts, forensic medicine
 
Author:
Baker, Sir John (comp.)
Title:
The English Legal Manuscripts of Sir Thomas Phillipps
Publisher:
Selden Society, London, 2008.
Description:
The fruits of Dr. Baker's efforts begun in the 1970's, building on those of Dr. A.N.L. Munby, to describe, record, and locate the present whereabouts of "the largest . . . collection [of English legal manuscripts] ever formed by an individual"
Condition:
Original cloth, as new in the dustjacket; the Society's Supplementary Series, volume 16
Book No.:
W-75535
Price:
$ 80.00
Category:
Manuscripts
Author:
Francis, Richard
Title:
Maxims of Equity, Collected From, And proved by Cases, out of the Books of the best Authority, in the High Court of Chancery [etc.]
Publisher:
Printed by E[lizabeth] and R. Nutt, and R. Gosling [etc.], London, 1727.
Description:
First edition of one of the earliest, and certainly the most attractive, works on English legal maxims, stating the maxims in simple, elegant terms, then illustrating their specific application with supporting case authority and accompanying analysis
Condition:
Modern 3/4 calf over marbled boards, slightly browned and dusty, else well-preserved, untrimmed and with excellent margins; the Taussig copy
Book No.:
W-78157
Price:
$ 1250.00
Category:
equity, maxims, Manuscripts
Author:
Hargrave, Francis
Title:
A Collection of Tracts Relative to the Law of England, from Manuscripts, Now First Edited [etc.]. Volume 1 [all published] [without the errata]
Publisher:
Printed by T. Wright: And sold by E. Brooke [etc.], London, 1787.
Description:
Hargrave's editing of some of the choicest manuscripts from his personal library, including previously unpublished works by Blackstone and Hale, Holdsworth characterizing the effort as one of Hargrave's two "principal service[s] to legal history"
Condition:
Contemporary calf, quite worn, rebacked, ex-library, browning, occasional early and informed notations; a good usable copy
Book No.:
W-77563
Price:
$ 850.00
Category:
English Law, Manuscripts
 
Author:
Francis, Clinton and Sue Sheridan Walker (eds.)
Title:
Checklist of Research in British Legal Manuscripts Volume III
Publisher:
Northwestern University School of Law, Chicago, 1984.
Description:
Condition:
Stapled wraps; 58 pages
Book No.:
W-41605
Price:
$ 12.50
Category:
equity, maxims, Manuscripts
 
Author:
Title:
Checklist Brit Legal Manuscrip
Publisher:
Description:
Condition:
Book No.:
W-10954
Price:
$ 25.00
Category:
Manuscripts
Author:
Title:
An Attorney's Practice Epitomized: Or, The Method, Times and Expences of Proceeding in the Courts of King's Bench and Common Pleas. From the Commencement of a Suit, to the Trial, final Judgment and Execution [etc.]. A New Edition, corrected
Publisher:
Printed by W. Strahan and M. Woodfall . . . For P. Uriel [etc.], London, 1778.
Description:
A rare edition of an intensely practical work seemingly published for almost a century, most usefully comparing and contrasting the practice of the two major royal courts in parallel columns, its gloss sometimes highly critical; five copies in ESTC
Condition:
Modern 1/4 calf over marbled boards, a very good copy, interleaved throughout, glossed, indexed, and with the rules of the Court of Peverel set forth
Book No.:
W-68508
Price:
$ 1500.00
Category:
courts, Manuscripts

E-mail Results to Yourself or a Friend

To e-mail the results above to a friend or to yourself, simply fill in the fields below:
Recipient's E-mail Address:
(e.g. user@company.com. To send to more than one person, separate each e-mail address with a comma.)
 
Your Name:
Your E-mail Address:
Your Message:
(optional)
Remember my e-mail on this computer

Save This Search

To be notified by e-mail (no obligation to purchase) when newly added books match this search
criteria, please enter your e-mail in the box below and hit the "Add This to My Wants" button.
To edit your existing wants list, enter your e-mail and hit the "Edit My Wants" button.

Your E-mail Address: (e.g. user@company.com)

Remember my e-mail on this computer

How to Order Books

If your browser supports and is set to accept cookies, you can click the 'Add to Order' button next to the selection you would like to order. The system will show you all the books in your shopping cart. If you wish to order additional books from this page, you may use the 'Back' button on your browser to return to this page from the Shopping Cart page.
If your browser does not support cookies or you choose not to accept them, you may use our previous non-cookie ordering system by clicking here.
Alternately, you may order by sending an e-mail note, or by contacting us directly by phone or FAX.
If you do send a FAX, please make sure to include your full shipping address, a credit card number and expiration date, and the "Order No" of the volumes you would like. Also, please make sure to leave a phone number so that we can contact you in the event we encounter any problems filling your order.

Contact Us

Questions, comments, inquiries??? Please write us!
rarelaw@meyerbos.com

Meyer Boswell Books, Inc.
2141 Mission Street, Suite 302
San Francisco, CA 94110
Phone : (415) 255-6400
Fax : (415) 795-3982
E-mail: rarelaw@meyerbos.com
URL : http://www.meyerbos.com
Privacy Policy